How to Delete Your Twitter Account

Video of the Day

How to Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account
After 30 days, Twitter will become the process of permanently deleting your account and its associated data. How do I delete my account? This newsletter may contain advertising, deals, or affiliate links. Can blame them, I think people just need to be aware of it. If you no longer want your Twitter account, you can deactivate it. You may unsubscribe from the newsletters at any time. How can I delete an account while using an android mobile device?

About This Article

How to Delete a Twitter Account

However, if you don't reinstate within that period, all your data will be permanently deleted from Twitter's servers. You should also know that while your account will disappear a few minutes after deleting it, the company claims that "some content may be viewable on twitter.

So, your previous content may remain searchable through those services. Before you get started, know that if you want to make your username or email address available for re-use each Twitter account must be associated with a unique email address , change them via Settings before your account is permanently deleted. Also, keep in mind that when you change your email, you will need to confirm via an email link that will be sent to your new address.

If you'd like to preserve your pithy, character musings, you can download your Twitter archive before ditching the service. Twitter will email you a link when the file is ready to be downloaded; this process could take up to a few days.

Head over to Twitter. Go to your account settings by clicking on your profile pic in the top-right corner and selecting from the pull-down menu, or just click here. Click the Deactivate button. It will ask you to enter your password to verify that you truly want to commit Twitter-suicide. You do, so click it. And boom, you are good to go. Samsung Galaxy Note 8 vs. Powerful Phones Face Off. He could usually be found listening to blisteringly loud noises on his headphones while exploring the nexus between tech, culture, and politics.

Scroll all the way down and click Deactivate my account. It's at the very bottom of the page. If you don't see this link at the bottom of the page, you haven't scrolled far enough down. This blue button will appear in the middle of the page after a few seconds. When prompted, type the password that you use to log into Twitter into the "Password" text field. It's a blue button in the bottom-right corner of the window.

Clicking this deactivates your account, though you can log back into your account any time in the next 30 days to restore it. Twitter will hold onto your account information for 30 days after deactivation, after which point your account will be gone with no chance of recovery. I don't have the Twitter application installed. Can I still delete my account? Can I delete my Twitter account if I currently do not have access to the internet?

Something or someone has me following about Twitter accounts that I did not initiate. Do I need to just deactivate my account and start a new one? What can I do if my account was hacked and I want to delete it, but it won't allow me to do it because it wants my password? How do I delete the old Twitter account of a company that I just purchased, without the login credentials? What do I do if I have two Twitter accounts and when I log in, it defaults to the account I rarely use?

If I delete the rarely used one, will the other account automatically be reinstated as my only Twitter account? How do I delete a twitter account that is linked to one email? How can I delete an account while using an android mobile device?

How Deactivation Works