Delete your Google Account

Grab the Free Email Inbox Mastery eBook

Delete your Gmail service
If I want to check on my data, I can select one of these options. If you are not going to use Google Plus profile anymore and you want to close that account, this tutorial is sure to help you. If you use Gmail offline, you'll also need to delete cookies associated with Gmail offline to remove your account completely. However, if you're being cyber bullied, or otherwise pestered through your Gmail account, you may be able to set up a filter and block the unwanted messages. If your account has been hacked or if it's overrun by spam, you may be wondering, "how do I delete my Gmail account? Alternatively, you can open this page directly.

Video of the Day

How to Delete a Gmail Address Without Deleting an Account

Privacy Policy Terms of Service. Delete your Gmail service If you don't want your Gmail address and emails anymore, you can remove them from your Google Account.

What happens when you delete your Gmail service Your emails and mail settings will be deleted. You can no longer use your Gmail address to send or receive email. Delete Gmail If you use Gmail through your work, school, or other group, contact your administrator.

Before deleting your Gmail service, download your data. Go to the Delete a Google service section of your Google Account. You might need to sign in. Next to "Gmail," select Delete. Follow the steps on the screen. Was this article helpful? It's also possible to outgrow an email address. If your user name is your teenage nickname or refers to your high school and you're now in your thirties, it may be time to graduate to a grown-up Gmail user name.

An unused email account could be a security risk. If you're not checking your account regularly, you have no way of knowing whether the account is compromised. Start with the quick video screencast below or dig into the written tutorial instructions that follow. Learn how to back up your Gmail messages and how to delete a Gmail account permanently. Before you delete your Gmail account, first download the data stored there. If you already have a current backup of your data, you can skip this step.

Begin by logging into your account. Next, click the Download your data link. The Google Download your data screen displays: You'll see various Google products listed with a box to the right of each of them. Use the scrollbar to scroll down to the products you want to back up. Since we are deleting Gmail, I recommend downloading data from Contacts and, of course, Mail.

By default, download is turned on for all products. You'll see a green check mark. To deactivate those downloads you don't need, click in the white space next to the green check mark. You'll see a gray X. The screen should look like this:. Click the Next button when you have selected the product data you wish to download. The Customize archive format screen appears:.

Use the down arrow in the box beneath each option to bring up a drop-down menu and make your choices: When you've made your choices, click the Create archive button. For this option, I opt to receive the download in my Gmail inbox.

The following screen displays:. When you're ready, click the Manage archives button. The following confirmation screen displays:. Click the Done button. Google takes you to a privacy settings screen. If you like, you can adjust your privacy settings now. Since I chose to receive the download through email, I open my Gmail inbox. A message displays with a link to my downloaded information:. If you chose one of the other options for downloading your data, you will find your data where you sent it.

Click the Download archive button. You will be prompted to log in to your Gmail account. The Download your data: Notice the prompt asking what you want to do with the data you've downloaded. Using the browser window, I find the folder where I want to save the data. I click the Save button on my browser window and the data is saved to my computer. The file is now stored on my computer. A prompt opens at the button of the screen asking whether I want to Open the download , Open folder , or View downloads.

If I want to check on my data, I can select one of these options. At this point, your data has been backed up. You are ready to move on to the next step of deleting your Gmail account.

Many online accounts use your email account as recovery information and to communicate with you. If you have accounts that are linked to this Gmail address that you are about to delete, you may lose access to those accounts if you ever need to reset your password.

Also, you may miss out on important communications from those accounts. Before deleting your Gmail address, check to see that none of your accounts are linked to Gmail. Start with the following important accounts and be sure to consider all your online accounts.

Once you've identified a list of online accounts linked to your Gmail address, change your profile information for each linked account to link to your new email address instead of your soon to be deleted Gmail address. Another important consideration is that clients and other contacts may not be able to reach you if you delete your Gmail address. To solve this problem, you will need to notify your contacts of your new email address.

Once you've backed up your Gmail data, changed your profile information for your online accounts, and notified your contacts you are finally ready to permanently remove your Gmail address. This process goes quickly:. To delete your Gmail account, you need to access the Google Account preferences screen.

Click the Account Preferences link. Use the scrollbar on the right of the screen to scroll down to the Delete your account or services heading. The screen now looks like this:. Check the Gmail address on the screen carefully to make sure it is the one you want to delete. When you are satisfied that it's correct, type your password and click the Sign in button.

The Delete a Google service screen appears:. That you are given another chance to download your data before you delete your Gmail account. If you have more than one Google service, they will be listed on this screen. Scroll down to Gmail. To delete your Gmail account, click the trash icon to the right. You'll be prompted to provide an email address so that you can use other Google services such as Google Drive and Calendar: Type the email address you will use from now on to access Google service into the space.

Click the Send Verification Email button on the lower right. You cannot use an email address that is already associated with another Google account. After you've typed the new email that you will use to check your Google account, instructions appear on the screen:. Click the Got It button in the lower right corner. Even though you've already selected the trash icon next to Gmail, you must confirm the Gmail account deletion.

Delete Gmail